SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 01-27-2006, 01:07 AM

Is it possible there's no digital signal

This may be a total newb question (espicially since it's coming from a newb)

I built a MCE machine and have it orking with a Hauppauge 500 card, both tuners work fine on analog. I decided I wanted more control and the server/client capabilities with Sage is great so I'm trying it out. In the mean time I've added an A180 card thinking I could tune in some of the unecrypted digital channels and/HD channels. I can not get the digital tuner to see anything. I've tried it with MCE, when I try it in Sage I get an error. I also tried WatchMyHDTV and the Avermedia app. There is no signal on anything that I can find.

I'm in Bellevue WA and have basic cable with a broadband cable modem (Comcast). There's no filter anywhere in the run back to the tap at the box outside. The cable modem is reporting a signal strength of ~+6.5db so I'm pretty sure I have good signal at the card.

Even if there's encrypted channels, wouldn't I see some indication? I'm guessing there's something in that cable, but I just can't seem to find it.

I really would rather not have to go with a STB (Comcast told me they would probably set me up with a DTC700). If I have to go with a STB, why have a digital tuner card if you have to use the composite video input. Wouldn't any capture card with composite input work as long as you tied it to the EPG and controlled the STB with a blaster or ?
Old 01-27-2006, 01:27 AM
Administrator