SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 03-17-2005, 12:03 AM
Sage User

Lockups with 2.2 and a WinTV 350

Hello all,

I am really really new at this, only got my system working today.
But as a little background, I am Senior Technician for a computer
company in Nova Scotia.

Ok for my system, I am uning a ASUS S-Presso barebones, with a
3.0 P4, 2x512 Kingston PC3200 Ram, an 80 gig SATA Western Digital
hard drive, The WinTV PVR 350, and a 9200 SE 128 meg video card.
The video card is soon to be removed, and I will use in onboard Intel
Extreme 2.

I VERY often have lockups with the system while watching tv.
The picture will just hang up, and the audio goes silent. Sometimes
I can change channels a few times and get it back. Sometimes, I
actually have to close and reopen the program.

General rule of thumb, if I can access the menu, then changing
channels will fix the problem. If not, it truely is locked up.

My system temp is a fairly constant 48 degrees c and the CPU is
50 degrees c. So I do not think it is an overheating problem.
The OS is windows XP Pro with all the express install updates. I
have installed the latest video and wintv drivers. The only other
software running ont he system is the control panel for the video
card, the control software for the front panel of the S-Presso
case, (Boy how I wish someone made a plugin for Sage to use the
front buttons) and the WinTV IR software. And of coarse Sage TV.

Does anyone have any idea why I keep locking up?

Thank you,

Viriiiguy
Old 03-17-2005, 01:07 AM
Sage Expert